Support


SUPPORT


Passport is lost/stolen/damaged (Inside UK)

You must get a replacement passport to remain in the UK or travel internationally.

Step 1:
Make a police report at a local police station (except for damaged passport) and obtain a crime reference number. The crime reference number is needed to apply for a replacement passport.

Step 2:
Be self-present at High Commission of Malaysia in London to report and apply for a replacement passport.

Address: 45 Belgrave Square, Westminster, London SW1X 8QT (Google Maps: https://goo.gl/maps/jhtFUzD9QP42 )

Files attached below provide detailed on documents required to apply for a replacement passport and a checklist.
Lost Passport Application and Required Documents.pdf
Documents Checklist.pdf

Passport is lost/stolen/damaged (Outside UK/Ireland)

Step 1:
Make a police report at a local police station (except for damaged passport) and obtain a crime reference number. The crime reference number is needed to apply for a replacement passport.

Step 2:
Be self-present at the nearest Malaysian Embassy to report and apply for an Emergency Certificate, a one-way travel document that allows you to re-enter UK/Ireland. Details of Malaysian embassy in a specific country could be found at here.

Required support documents are:

▶ 2 passport-sized photographs
▶ A copy of MyKad / Malaysian Identity Card / Birth Certificate
▶ A copy of passport
▶ Police report (and English translation)

Biometric Residence Permit (BRP) is lost/stolen

It is important that you have BRP with you when you are travelling outside of the UK as you will need it when returning the UK.

Step 1:
Report the loss to the local police and obtain a crime reference number.

Step 2:
Report the loss to the Home Office through their online form. Your friends or relative can complete this form on behalf of you. The following details will be required: Name, Date of Birth, Nationality, BRP number (optional), email address, phone number (optional). The Home Office will contact you within 1 working day. Your BRP will be cancelled and you will have to apply for a new BRP.

Step 3 (only if BRP is lost/stolen outside the UK):
Apply for a replacement BRP (single-entry visa) which allows you to enter the UK once only. This visa is only valid for one month. You must make an online application for a fee of £189. In the application, under ‘Select Visa Type’ section, choose the following options:

Reason for visit: Other
Visa type: Others
Visa Sub Type: Replacement Biometric Residence Permit

As it can take a few weeks to get a replacement visa, consider returning to Malaysia and applying there as it might be cheaper and you will get better support.

Step 4:
Apply for a replacement BRP within three months of reporting the loss to the Home Office (or within one month of your return to the UK if your BRP is lost outside the UK). Failure to do so could result in a penalty of £1000. Fill out the BRP(RC) form. You have two options:

  1. Post the form with and application fee of £56.
  2. Apply in person at a premium service centre for a fee of £556. This service is much faster than postal.

Passport is expiring in less than 3 months

You must renew your passport at High Commission of Malaysia, London or Malaysian Embassy, Dublin.
If you are from the UK, follow this link  http://www.jimlondon.net/ppt_apply.html
If you are from Ireland, follow this link http://www.kln.gov.my/web/irl_dublin/passport_renewal

Register with Education Malaysia

All students studying in the UK are obligated to register with Education Malaysia (EM) as soon as arriving in the UK. If you have not registered, please register now. Registration is done online.

Registering with EM is equivalent to registering with the High Commission of Malaysia. This enables the authorities to contact you during emergencies or to disseminate important information. You are also required to update any changes in information from time to time.

Travel Advisory

● Ensure the validity of your passport and visa is more than six months from the date of your arrival in the country of your visit
● Register with Malaysia missions in the countries you are travelling to. Please refer to the email addresses below:

London – mwlondon@kln.gov.my
Ireland – mwdublin@kln.gov.my
Paris – mwparis@kln.gov.my
Brussels – mwbrussels@kln.gov.my
The Hague – mwthehague@kln.gov.my
Rome – mwrome@kln.gov.my
Ankara – mwankara@kln.gov.my
Vienna – mwvienna@kln.gov.my
Sarajevo – mwsarajevo@kln.gov.my
Zagreb – mwzagreb@kln.gov.my
Prague – mwprague@kln.gov.my
Helsinki – mwhelsinki@kln.gov.my
Berlin – mwberlin@kln.gov.my
Frankfurt – mwfrankfurt@kln.gov.my
Budapest – mwbudapest@kln.gov.my
Warsaw – mwwarsaw@kln.gov.my
Bucharest – mwbucharest@kln.gov.my
Moscow – mwmoscow@kln.gov.my
Belgrade – mwbelgrade@kln.gov.my
Madrid – mwmadrid@kln.gov.my
Stockholm – mwstockholm@kln.gov.my
Berne – mwberne@kln.gov.my
Kiev – mwkiev@kln.gov.my

● Note the full contact details (address and telephone number) of the Malaysia embassy of the country you are travelling to.
● Bring the following items with you.

▶ copy of your passport
▶ copy of your Biometric Residence Permit (BRP)
▶ Malaysian Identity Card (IC)
▶ Student card
▶ 2 passport-sized photographs

 

If you have any other queries, please do no hesitate to email us at ukecares@ukeconline.com