Updates to the UKEC AGM and Elections

The nomination period for the elections is now officially open until 22 October, 11.59pm. The Elections Commission will be made up of the following people:

Tai Zee How (zeehow@ukeconline.com)

Melissa Kong (melissa@ukeconline.com)

Roshan Mark Singh Sidhu (roshanmark@ukeconline.com)

Soo Tho Wei Kit (weikit@ukeconline.com)

Tan Kean Hui (keanhui89@ukeconline.com)

Jeshua Choong (jeshuachoong@ukeconline.com)

Lek Ken Vin (kenvinlek@ukeconline.com)

 

Please note that nominations should be emailed to Tai Zee How, the Head of Elections Commission,  at zeehow@ukeconline.com, and cc-ed to Melissa at melissa@ukeconline.com. The email title should read “Nomination Submission for UKEC Elections 2011/12”. The person sending the email should be the primary nominator, and the candidate and seconder should be cc-ed in the email as well.

The email format for nominations is as follows:

Nomination of Candidacy for:
Name of Candidate:
University:
Year of study:
Course of study:
Email address:
Mobile number:

Nominated by
Name:
University:
Year of Study:
Course of Study:
Email address:
Mobile number:

Seconded by
Name:
University:
Year of Study:
Course of study:
Email address:
Mobile number:

Please note that failure to follow the procedure for nominations will result in your nomination being considered void.

Candidates cannot be nominated for more than one position.

There will also be a debate between the candidates for UKEC chairman 2011/12 that will be held from 10 – 11am on Sunday, 23 October 2011. The venue and details regarding whether or not this video will be streamed for live viewing will be confirmed at a later date.

All Malaysian students from the UK and Ireland are welcome to submit their questions for the UKEC chairman candidates to Farquar Haqqani, who will be moderating the debate. Please email your questions to farquarhaqqani@ukeconline.com by 22nd October 2011, 11.59pm.

Please also be reminded that Connectwork is producing a publicity video of the AGM that will be aired on 28 October 2011. In this video, each candidate will be given 5 seconds to introduce themselves and to gain support from the voting delegates who will be present at the AGM. Although it is not compulsory to submit a video, this provides all candidates with a suitable platform through which they can reach out and connect to their peers. Video submission will be completely confidential, and Connectwork will not reveal details with regards to the identity of the candidates until the video is aired.

Please send all video clips to Lisa at lisaamani.a.r@ukeconline.com and cc Azeem at azeem@ukeconline.com. Alternately, you can upload the video to http://www.2shared.com and email the download link to both Lisa and Azeem if the video is too large to send via email. Please note that the deadline for video submission has been extended to 23 October 2011, 11.59am.

The itinerary for the AGM will be released soon.

The campaigning period for candidates will officially begin once the elections period is over, and will end at 28 October 2011, 11.59pm. Any candidate found to be campaigning after the deadline will have his or her nomination voided by the Elections Commission.

If you have any enquiries, please send an email to info@ukeconline.com.